I’ve Got the Music in Me–and Oh, How it Moves Me! – Part 3.

Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel.

This is just one of several videos I’ll be sharing with you over time by people who share the talents and heritage of the Boling family and surname.

Published on Jun 6, 2012

TIM HENDERSON, one of America’s greatest songwriters, died in Austin, Texas on November 1st, 2011. Tim was a dear friend of C. Daniel Boling’s and he was honored to be asked to join other friends of singing Tim’s songs on stage at the 2012 Kerrville Folk Festival in tribute to Tim’s great music. C. Daniel says that: “This song “Buffalo Nickels” is one of my favorites, and I think Tim would be pleased that I’m singing it on tour around the country. I hope you’ll enjoy this song of Tim’s and seek out others — he wrote a huge body of exceptional songs and over 100 of them have been recorded by other singers and songwriters over the years.

BUFFALO NICKLES
Written by Tim Henderson

Do you remember when girl was a four letter word
And your closet was a good place to hide
Your hobby horse stallion was the king of the plains
And your friends all got up when they died

There was nothing was better than candy
And you’d rather had gum than a kiss
Now some good friends have died, there’s noplace to hide
And there’s more than a few things you miss

Buffalo nickels and mercury dimes
All the things that we’re changin and leavin behind
All the people and places and lost days that shine
Like buffalo nickels and mercury dimes

Well I can see it all now, I got a boy of my own
His bike is the king of the plains
He’s got a big shiny six-gun he waves all around
Gets so mad he could cry when it rains

And there’s no girl as pretty as Mommy
Lord, his eyes light her world when they shine
He’ll soon be a man, I do what I can
To make sure he’ll have memories like mine

Buffalo nickels and mercury dimes
All the things that we’re changin and leavin behind
All the people and places and bright days that shine
Like buffalo nickels and mercury dimes

Buffalo nickels and mercury dimes
All the things that we’re changin and leavin behind
All the people and places and lost days that shine
Like buffalo nickels and mercury dimes

6 thoughts on “I’ve Got the Music in Me–and Oh, How it Moves Me! – Part 3.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Buffalo Nickel – Poem / Poetry / Song – “Adios to Painful Mementos” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. JOANNE -

    Thank you for finding and posting my performance of this great song by the wonderful Tim Henderson! My father, Charles Boling, was raised in Whitesburg and Hazard, KY and has done a great deal of genealogic work on the Boling family also. He now lives in northwest New Mexico.

    If you’d like any more of my videos there are 15 more (and others coming soon) on my YouTube channel at http://www.youtube.com/user/PerfectlyStableMusic/videos … and there is plenty more about my music at http://www.danielboling.com

    All the best and thanks again for including me in your musings!

    DAN’L

    • You are among the few “Boling’s” from Kentucky that I have heard from. Thanks, Daniel, I just can’t get enough contacts from unknown family members. Please let me know if you dad has a public family tree and whether he would like to compare notes.

      • JOANNE -
        He has an extensive database, but I don’t believe he has anything available publicly — he might be interested in comparing notes though. Daddy was very active with this for a number of years but in the last couple years has had some health issues which distracted him pretty thoroughly. If you’d like to pass along a direct email address and/or phone number I’ll encourage him to get in touch with you — please email me directly at daniel@danielboling.com or call me at 505-228-2530. We are from the John Rolfe / Pocahontas / Col. Robert Bolling line.
        Thanks for responding, and so quickly too!
        DAN’L

  3. Pingback: A Nickel Short of a Dollar | Stuphblog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

